17 Comments

  1. Jon
    September 9, 2010 @ 6:11 am

    I don’t know… I’m still a fan of people becoming Personal Franchises for companies – where you’re an entrapreneur more than a glorified employee…
    Jon´s last blog post ..Mandura Opportunity – Part 2

  2. LTruex
    September 9, 2010 @ 8:48 am

    Thanks Jon. There are certainly many benefits to owning your own business over having a job. But some people don’t have the desire to own a business, so having the option to work from home in a job is great for them.

  3. F.W. Chapman Solutions
    August 14, 2011 @ 3:32 pm

    I just discovered FlexJobs yesterday, and I’m very excited about the possibilities! The $50/year rate is a much better value than the $15/month rate, and they’re offering a JOB30 discount coupon to get 30% off. That brings the cost of the first year down to only $35! Considering all the time you save by looking at pre-screened, legitimate work-at-home jobs, it’s a great bargain. I think I may sign up today.

    I’d like to add that FlexJobs is a great resource for entrepreneurs like me. I am a freelance consultant with my own business, and FlexJobs could make it easier for me to find contract jobs in my fields of expertise.

    You don’t have to choose between owning your own business and working at home. You can do both at the same time!

    Best wishes,

    Fred Chapman
    Consultant/Scientist
    F.W. Chapman Solutions

  4. LTruex
    August 15, 2011 @ 10:53 am

    Hi Fred, I agree, the yearly cost is a great deal and Flexjobs offers lots of great services beyond listing available jobs. Thank you for posting.

  5. Elena
    August 25, 2011 @ 9:55 am

    Why pay for FlexJobs? Lots of work-at-home sites belong to it, rip off their listings and post them on their own websites for free? Really dumb to pay for it; Flexjobs should be doing much better policing of these sites.

  6. LTruex
    August 25, 2011 @ 12:01 pm

    Hi Elena, I can see what you’re saying…why pay for something if you can get it for free? However, many people struggle with finding the legit jobs on free sites or they want the convenience of having someone else weed through the scams, schemes and non-work-at-home jobs that sometimes show up when you search for work-at-home jobs on free sites. For those are serious work-at-home job hunters that know what they’re looking for, the paid sites can save a lot of time. Plus FlexJobs offers many other great tools and resources. And not all it’s jobs can be found elsewhere. For someone like you, who clearly understands how and where to find work-at-home jobs, then Flexjobs and other telecommuting databases are probably a waste of money. I don’t use them either except when I’m checking them out for possible inclusion as a resource at Work-At-Home Success. But I do believe there are some people for which these sites offer legitimate help. Thank you for commenting!

  7. F.W. Chapman Solutions
    August 25, 2011 @ 1:32 pm

    Hi Leslie,

    I just signed up for FlexJobs last night. It cost me under $35 for a whole year’s access, which is less than $3/month. I’m very busy, and it’s certainly worth it to me to pay someone else $0.10/day to weed out the junk! FlexJobs presents me with the best jobs and organizes them nicely on one easy-to-use website. Visiting multiple sites would certainly take up more than $0.10/day of my valuable time!

    There’s another great bonus I didn’t discover until after I signed up: FlexJobs lets you take a wide variety of ExpertRating skill tests as many times as you want at no extra charge! It’s included in the cost of your subscription. These tests usually cost at least $10/attempt on the ExpertRating.com website. I took four tests for free last night, which means I’ve already saved $5 on test fees. 🙂

    My test scores and percentile rankings can now be viewed by prospective employers. You can earn badges of distinction for placing in the top 20% or top 10%, too. This is valuable because it helps you stand out among the competition and increases your chances of getting the job you want.

    If you do badly on a test (scoring under 60%), the results won’t be visible to employers, so there’s no harm in trying. You can retake any test after waiting a day. FlexJobs posts your best score, so there’s no harm in retaking a test if you think you can do better.

    FlexJobs just keeps getting better and better!

    Best wishes,

    Fred

  8. F.W. Chapman Solutions
    August 25, 2011 @ 1:42 pm

    P.S. What I meant is that I took $40 worth of ExpertRating skill tests for free and paid $35 for my FlexJobs subscription, so I’m ahead $5. 🙂 I plan on taking lots more tests, too, so the savings just keep adding up!

  9. LTruex
    August 25, 2011 @ 4:10 pm

    Hi Fred, Thanks for sharing that. It adds a lot of value to hear the experiences of someone using the service. I’m glad your taking advantage of all the FlexJobs has to offer. Good luck on the job search.

  10. Mike
    August 17, 2013 @ 9:46 am

    Hello,

    Thank you for this article, you made me discover the flexjobs.com site. I have a friend who was looking for work from home, I will now be able to learn.

    Thanks again.

  11. LTruex
    August 20, 2013 @ 11:40 am

    Glad the article helped you find a new resource. Thank you for commenting.

  12. Rebecca
    November 3, 2013 @ 7:28 pm

    Hi,

    Since it was looking for transcriptionist jobs that brought me to FlexJobs, I’m a little confused about the remark regarding typing at home. There are an awful lot of transcription companies out there who are relying on accurate typists working out of their homes. And though we are using computers now, instead of typewriters, it’s probably still the same type of people performing this work…the type who were pioneers in the work at home industry and are still quite perfectly suited to working at home.

  13. LTruex
    November 4, 2013 @ 9:51 am

    Hi Rebecca, I’m not sure what remark you’re talking about, but often I warn people away from jobs that are listed as “typing”, because that’s what many scammers use. However, transcription is a viable job, although you should still use caution when searching for transcription work. A telecommuting database, such as Flexjobs, helps weed out the scams, so you’re safer when searching jobs there. Thank you for visiting Work-At-Home Success!

  14. Shawn Michaels
    January 14, 2017 @ 7:06 am

    Such an amazing and knowledgeable article. I was searching to do a job from home. And actually i am a freelancer. Thanks for suggesting this site. Will definitely check it out today.

  15. LTruex
    January 16, 2017 @ 9:37 am

    Hi Shawn – Thank you for visiting Work-At-Home Success. I’m so glad you found value in the Flexjobs review!

  16. Fred N Hill
    May 3, 2017 @ 5:30 pm

    Hi Leslie,
    You mentioned that you only recommend (2) telecommuting databases. One of which is flexJobs. Whats the other one? I’ve researched some only to be disapointed with especially their cost.
    There is one I’m considering but don’t know if I should mention it here. It seems reliable and cost effective for what they offer, (much like flexjobs). I’d like your thoughts if perhaps you’re open to my telling you who they are. Let me know.

    Thanks,
    Fred Hill

  17. LTruex
    May 4, 2017 @ 6:04 pm

    Hi Fred, The only two telecommuting databases I consistently share are FlexJobs and HomeJobSpot. Here are links to my reviews of them: FlexJobs. HomeJobStop. I hope that helps. Thank you for visiting WAHS!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

CommentLuv badge

SiteLock